“Liberia is a wonderful, gorgeous, wounded country which is struggling with all its might to find its identity.”

Liberia

“Should I describe my home country in one sentence, I might put as follows: Liberia is a wonderful, gorgeous, wounded country which is struggling with all its might to find its identity.” With these words Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf, the first female president on the African continent, is describing her country, and in this short sentence she finds a concise expression for the current situation in Liberia: a wounded country which is struggling with all its might to find its identity.

Liberia is the second eldest independent state of the African continent and was already founded in 1847.It is situated mainly in the tropical rainforest zone and extends over an area of 111,370 square kilometers. Neighboring countries are Ivory Coast, Guinea, and Sierra Leone. Its capital is Monrovia with about one million inhabitants. Overall, Liberia is populated by about 3.5 million people. They belong to 16 different ethnic groups with 16 different languages, the official language is English. The small state of Liberia has gone through a changeful history which had its dreadful climax in the succession of two civil wars lasting approximately 14 years and the gory dictatorship of Charles Taylor.

18 % of the recruited soldiers were children! About 80 % of the population were expelled either within the country or abroad.

Altogether, 200,000 people fell victim to the civil war. In 2003, Liberia was a highly indebted, bleeding country, plundered, without a functioning economy. Health care for the population had not been warranted for a long time. Due to malnutrition, AIDS and tropical infectious diseases were spreading.

In 2005, Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf was elected for president in the first democratic elections in Liberia. When she assumed office in 2006, she took over a job which seemed impossible: the country was destroyed, the unemployment rate was 90 %, the majority of the population was and still is until today severely traumatized. She had to deal with tens of thousands of traumatized, marauding soldiers and rebels, there was no infrastructure and no functioning administration. In fall 2011, the presidency of Johnson-Sirleaf was reconfirmed by 90 % of the votes. In her first term of office she had achieved astonishing results, for which she was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 2011.

Democracy as well as health care are still standing on shaky ground in this country which is why the government has been aiming to introduce complementary and alternative medicine for quite some time. Starting in 2009, first talks were held by the Ambassador of Liberia, a deputy of the local health minister, and me as a representative of HOG. Still it took almost two years to find a suitable co-operation partner for us to implement our training programs in Liberia.

Last summer, Mrs. Gieraths-Nimene, the director of the CERLIB clinic in Monrovia, was seeking contact with HOG: the personnel of her clinic is very much interested in a homeopathic training. The clinic has been enlarged recently, so that now we even have classrooms at our disposal.

After some preliminary talks, now the time has come: in the middle of March Gesine Seck and I will leave for a first investigating visit in Monrovia.

Part of the program of this trip will of course be getting in contact with the personnel of the GERLIB clinic, an inaugural visit at the health ministry, and maybe a visit at the project of medica mondiale that for several years has been engaged for the improvement of the living conditions of Liberian women.

At the beginning of a project it is always important to capture the local situation as precisely as possible: • Which are the main diseases and problems the personnel of the clinic is dealing with?

• Who will come into consideration as a future student of homeopathy?

• Which prerequisites do these people bring along? Here we are interested in education as well as time conditions.

• Which is the quickest and most reasonable way for these people to integrate homeopathy into their professional daily routine?

• On which columns can the training program be built as to reaching as many students as possible and achieving a high multiplication factor?

• Who else can we win for local support? Linking-up with NGOs that are already active on site has often been very helpful.

• Where do we have to expect resistance?

• Which risks do we have to consider?

My colleague Gesine Seck and I will be very busy in Liberia, of course we will offer trial workshops to give a first insight into homeopathy.

The information gathered during this first trip will be the basis for further decisions. The teaching concept, the expected duration of the project, the extent of our action, as well as the number of future trips and the financial investments to be expected will be part of the project planning.

For two years I have delved into the history of this country. Spellbound, I am pursuing the fascinating actions of this brave and powerful woman, Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf, who seems to succeed with remarkable wisdom in recording a success story which is unparalleled. It fills me with incredible joy and gratefulness to get the chance to make a reasonable contribution to this country and this young democracy.

Two things are certain, though:

Homöopathen ohne Grenzen needs support for this project!

We are looking for experienced colleagues who are in command of English and are keen to work on shaping this interesting project.

To finance the extensive traveling costs, we depend on donations.

I thank everybody in anticipation for their support!

Elisabeth von Wedel

Contact

info@

homoeopathenohnegrenzen.de

Support us!

every donation counts!

Donate

Liberia

2011 - 2012

Liberia ist ein wundervolles, wunderschönes, verwundetes Land, das mit aller Kraft darum kämpft, sich selbst zu finden.

„Müsste ich mein Heimatland in einem Satz beschreiben, würde ich etwa Folgendes sagen: Liberia ist ein wundervolles, wunderschönes, verwundetes Land, das mit aller Kraft darum kämpft, sich selbst zu finden.“  So beschreibt Ellen Johnson - Sirleaf, die erste weibliche Präsidentin des afrikanischen Kontinents, ihr Land und findet in diesem kurzen Satz einen prägnanten Ausdruck für die gegenwärtige Situation in Liberia: ein verwundetes Land dass mit aller Kraft darum kämpft, sich selbst zu finden.

Liberia ist der zweitälteste unabhängige Staat des afrikanischen Kontinents, bereits 1847 gegründet. Es liegt hauptsächlich in der tropischen Regenwaldzone und erstreckt sich über eine Fläche von 111.370 Quadratkilometern. Die angrenzenden Länder sind die Elfenbeinküste, Guinea und Sierra Leone. Die Hauptstadt ist Monrovia mit schätzungsweise rund einer Million Einwohnern. Insgesamt leben ca. 3,5 Millionen Menschen in Liberia, sie sind Angehörige von 16 verschiedenen ethnischen Gruppen mit 16 unterschiedlichen Sprachen, die Amtssprache ist Englisch. Der kleine Staat Liberia hat eine wechselvolle Geschichte hinter sich, die ihren grausamen Höhepunkt in einer Abfolge von zwei, rund  14 Jahre währenden, Bürgerkriegen und der blutigen Diktatur von Charles Taylor fand.

18 % der rekrutierten Soldaten waren Kinder!  Etwa 80 % der Bevölkerung wurden entweder innerhalb des Landes oder ins Ausland vertrieben.

Insgesamt fielen 200.000 Menschen dem Bürgerkrieg zum Opfer. 2003 war Liberia ein hoch verschuldetes, blutendes Land, geplündert, ohne funktionierende Wirtschaft. Die medizinische Versorgung der Bevölkerung war schon seit langen nicht mehr gewährleistet, aufgrund von Unterernährung breiteten sich AIDS und tropische Infektionskrankheiten aus.

2005 wurde Frau Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf in der ersten demokratischen Wahl Liberias zur Präsidentin gewählt.  Als sie 2006 ihr Amt übernahm trat sie einen Job an,  der unmöglich erschien: das Land war zerstört, es herrschten 90% Arbeitslosigkeit, die Mehrheit der Bevölkerung war und ist bis heute schwer traumatisiert, sie hatte mit zehntausenden traumatisierten, marodierenden Soldaten und Rebellen zu tun, es gab keine Infrastruktur und keine funktionierende Verwaltung. Im Herbst 2011 wurde Johnson-Sirleaf mit über 90% der Stimmen in ihrem Amt bestätigt. Sie hat in Ihrer ersten Amtsperiode erstaunliches geleistet, wofür sie 2011 mit dem Friedensnobelpreis ausgezeichnet wurde.

Sowohl Demokratie als auch medizinische Versorgung stehen jedoch noch immer  auf wackligen Füßen in diesem Land weshalb die Regierung schon seit längerer Zeit um die Einführung komplementärer und alternativer Heilmethoden bemüht ist.  Aus diesem Grund fanden bereits 2009 erste Gespräche zwischen der Liberianischen Botschafterin, einem Vertreter des örtlichen Gesundheitsministers und mir als Repräsentantin für HOG statt. Es dauerte dann allerdings noch fast zwei Jahre bis sich ein geeigneter Kooperationspartner für uns fand mit dessen Hilfe wir unser Ausbildungsangebot in Liberia einsetzen können.

Im Sommer vergangenen Jahres suchte Frau Gieraths- Nimene , die Leiterin der GERLIB Clinic in Monrovia den Kontakt zu HOG: das Personal ihrer Klinik ist sehr an einer Homöopathieausbildung interessiert. In der Klinik wurden jüngst Erweiterungsarbeiten fertig gestellt, so dass sogar Unterrichtsräume zur Verfügung stehen.


Elisabth von Wedel
Gesine Seck

Nach einigen vorbereitenden Gesprächen ist es nun soweit: Mitte März brechen Gesine Seck und ich zu einem ersten Erkundungsbesuch nach Monrovia auf.

Auf dem Programm unserer Reise steht natürlich die Kontaktaufnahme zum Personal der GERLIB clinic, ein Antrittsbesuch beim Gesundheitsministerium, möglicherweise ein Besuch bei dem Projekt von medica mondiale, die sich seit einigen Jahren vor Ort für die Verbesserung der Lebenssituation der liberianischen Frauen einsetzen.

Zu Beginn eines Projektes gilt es stets die lokale Situation so genau wie möglich zu erfassen:

  • Welches sind die hauptsächlichen Erkrankungen und Probleme mit denen das Klinikpersonal zu tun hat?

  • Wer wird als künftige Homöopathie Studierender in Frage kommen?

  • Welche Vorraussetzungen bringen diese Menschen mit? Hier interessieren wir uns für Schulbildung und auch die zeitlichen Gegebenheiten.

  • Wie lässt sich die Homöopathie für diese Menschen am schnellsten und am sinnvollsten in ihrem professionellen Alltag integrieren?

  • Auf welche Säulen können wir unser Ausbildungsangebot stellen, so dass möglichst viele Studierende erreicht werden können und ein hoher Multiplikationsfaktor erreicht wird?

  • Wen können wir zusätzlich lokal zur Unterstützung gewinnen? Die Vernetzung mit schon vor Ort tätigen NGOs hat sich oft als sehr hilfreich erwiesen.

  • Wo müssen wir mit Widerstand rechnen?

  • Was gibt es für Gefahren die wir bedenken müssen?

 Meine Kollegin Gesine Seck und ich werden in der Zeit in Liberia gut zu tun haben, selbstverständlich werden wir  „Schnupper-workshops“ anbieten, um einen ersten Einblick in die Homöopathie zu bieten.

Die gesammelten Informationen dieser ersten Reise werden die Grundlage für weitere Entscheidungen bieten. Das Unterrichtskonzept, die voraussichtliche Dauer des Projektes, der Umfang unserer Einsätze und auch die Anzahl der künftigen Reisen und der zu erwartende finanzielle Aufwand sind Bestandteil der weiteren Projektplanung.

 Seit zwei Jahren beschäftige ich mich nun mit der Geschichte dieses Landes. Gebannt verfolge ich die faszinierenden Taten dieser mutigen starken Frau, Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf, der es mit bemerkenswerter Weisheit zu gelingen scheint, eine Erfolgsstory zu schreiben, die ihresgleichen sucht. Es erfüllt mich mit unglaublicher Freude und Dankbarkeit, die Chance zu haben, einen sinnvollen Beitrag zu diesem Land und dieser jungen Demokratie leisten zu dürfen. 

 Zwei Dinge stehen allerdings dabei fest:

Homöopathen ohne Grenzen braucht für dieses Projekt Ihre Unterstützung!

Wir suchen erfahrene Kollegen und Kolleginnen, die sicher im Englischen sind und Lust haben an der Gestaltung dieses spannenden Projektes durch ihre Arbeit mitzuwirken.

Um die erheblichen Reisekosten zu finanzieren sind wir auf Spendengelder angewiesen.

Ich danke allen im Voraus für Ihre Unterstützung!

Elisabeth von Wedel



Ansprechpartnerin

Elisabeth von Wedel

Unterstützen Sie uns!

Jede Spende hilft!

Spenden